I Am Not My Avatar

Pioneers have often traveled into the unknown. Prepared for dangers both known and not, pioneers broke new ground, forged new paths and sacrificed their lives in search of something new.

Today, a new frontier faces us. Faced with challenges both seen and unseen, modern day pioneers are often unaware of the dangers inherent within ventures into cyberspace. So dangerous are these virtual forays into electronic arenas our eternal happiness is threatened.

To help us navigate the course ahead resources from Elder David A. Bednar of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles describe the “dangers of  digital distraction, diversions and detours that have no lasting value.”

Inspired by this counsel, I considered the options and balance we must weigh to participate, engage and manage ourselves and our children in the digital word without becoming consumed by the new media. My discussion is part of an ongoing project “I Am Not My Avatar” identifying and exposing other half truth’s about modern media.

Presentation: http://bit.ly/e3sJiM
Elder Bednar’s text: http://bit.ly/dN7WMD

One thought on “I Am Not My Avatar

Leave a Reply

