We Improve What We Measure

During the summer of 2010 I decided I wanted to run. It started in June 2010 when before going to a physical I wanted to tell the doctor, “Sure Doc, I exercise”. For two weeks I started walking around my neighborhood with my wife. Walking was boring, company was great, the speed was absolutely … b-o-r-i-n-g. So I picked up the pace and ran.

At first my running was very poor. I made steps (pun intended) to start small with goals to run without stopping to ever- increasing distances. Next, I ran against the clock. Finally, I ran for total miles in a week.

Along the way I found a measuring tool called Daily Mile (website). Daily mile is a web based log tracking tool to record your workouts and connect and compete with friends and others in your area. After creating an account it is very easy to create workouts or routes and record them showing progress and keep a basic exercise journal.

Over the summer I found my performance improved. My ability and desire to run longer distances faster also improved. Each day when I would run and record my results I could note improvements.

The principle here is when we measure performance our performance improves. When we indicate the metrics by which we measure improvement we focus to improve that metric. In life if you will define your goals, measure them and make goals that are specific, measurable, attainable, realistic and time-based you too can enjoy improvement. If you use a tool like Daily Mile you can improve your physical fitness and compare your activity with friends while you do it.

Leave a Reply

