My Define: Zen Hills

zen hillsthe condition caused when riding inclines a bicycle rider establishes a cadence and rhythm that combine man and machine in a transcendental state of euphoria.

I created this definition after yesterday’s ride when dropping into the handle bar drops I just felt rhythm and exhilaration while riding a steady mile uphill. I still recall the first time I felt this. When I was 16 years I took a tour up the California Coast. When I was riding outside of San Luis Obispo, California there was a hill a couple of miles where I pedalled up hill but felt so powerful and at peace at each pedal. It is the closest feel of active balance that I rarely feel except while riding up hills. It has happened since but I find it most common on inclines.

Leave a Reply

