Tribute to Mother

In “The Family: A Proclamation to the World,” it says, “Parents have a sacred duty to rear their children in love and righteousness, to provide for their physical and spiritual needs, to teach them to love and serve one another, to observe the commandments of God and to be law-abiding citizens wherever they live.

I have considered writing this in time for posting on Mother’s Day 2008. Today, 11 May 2008 in the United States we are celebrating Mother’s Day. It is one thing we all in common regardless of any other condition – a mother. Many of us have a mother who cooked, dressed cuts and scared away the boogey man. Others have mothers who tried to fill the roles of both parents and provide for the physical needs at the same time. One thing in is common it is with love that our mothers try to rear us.

Today, I am thank ful or my wife who is the mother of our three children. She is their mother, literally their teacher, she guards them and protects them and trains their father how to be a mother. She does a better job than I could have wished for.  She is definitely doing a different job than I would have done and our children better be pleased about that.

I learned a long time ago that a mother who raises her children will have a strong posterity. Imelda struggled with this when we first got married. She was a very talented instructor at University of the Philippines on a bright path to professional success in the Psychology field. However, after our first son was born she put this aside and wanted to be a full time Mother.

I am so fortunate to have married a person who made this her ambition. We will have children who will benefit from this for the rest of their lives.

Equally I love my own Mother. She did the same by raising us. During a time of Equal Right Amendments, NOW, and other social changes that tried to degrade the holy calling of Motherhood, my Mother raised us at home, drove us to swim practice, taught us to live, and trained us early to work. Today, my good works are a result of my Mother’s teachings.

Before finalizing this post I saw the pictures of a newborn to a co-worker. I am so happy for Cindy who is able to celebrate her first Mother’s Day with their child. I know, that she knows, their son will love her forever just as each one of us can love our mothers.

Leave a Reply

